AQLI

概述

空气质量-寿命指数

空气质量寿命指数,即 AQLI,将大气污染浓度转化成其对平均预期寿命的影响。借此,当考虑空气污染政策的效益时,公众和政策制定者可使用目前最重要的衡量标准:预期寿命的延长。

由芝加哥大学能源政策研究所 (EPIC) 发布的 AQLI 是基于该研究所主任 Michael Greenstone 的前沿研究,该指数量化了人类暴露于空气污染和平均预期寿命缩短之间的因果关系。这项分析与高度局域化的污染检测的结合让我们以前所未有的视角审视了世界各国社区中空气污染带来的真正代价。通过此互动平台,用户不仅能够了解其社区受污染的方式,还可以了解如果其社区遵守世界卫生组织的指南或国家标准,他们的寿命将延长多久。显然,减少使用矿物燃料的政策能够保证人们活得更加健康,寿命也更长,而且还能够降低发生破坏性环境变化的风险。

“通过将空气污染浓度转化成有形的指标,即其对平均预期寿命的影响,AQLI 确定了空气颗粒物污染是全球范围内人类健康的最大威胁。”– Michael Greenstone, EPIC


独特的视角

大多数人对于空气颗粒物污染的接触和风险的了解都是通过流行的空气质量指数(AQI),该指数使用颜色编码系统对每日空气质量进行规范评估。但这些颜色并不能说明真正的健康隐患,而且通常伴随着大多数人并不熟悉的计量单位(如,每立方米微克污染)。而 AQLI 则以全新的角度测量和表示空气颗粒物污染带来的健康隐患,体现了在此方面的进展。因为 AQLI 将空气颗粒物污染转化成最重要的度量标准,即对平均预期寿命的影响。

AQLI 基于同行评审的研究,该研究由包括芝加哥大学 Michael Greenstone 教授在内的国际学者团队完成,量化了人类长期暴露在空气污染环境中和平均预期寿命之间的因果关系。该指数将本研究成果和超越局域性的全球颗粒物质的测量相融合。正是这一独特视角,让 AQLI 成为首个揭示空气污染威胁对世界各地人民生命影响的污染指数。不仅如此,该指数还说明可通过降低颗粒物污染浓度,使其符合国际卫生组织 (WHO) 指南、现行国家空气质量标准或用户定义标准,从而提高平均预期寿命。

而且,AQLI 在这一领域独树一帜,主要体现在以下几个重要方面。

  1. AQLI的研究根本基于现如今在亚洲很多地区普遍存在的极高浓度的污染数据。以前的研究或基于对美国低污染地区联想证据的推断,或基于吸烟研究的推断。
  2. 而 AQLI 基本研究内容的因果关系使其能够将空气污染的影响与其他影响健康的因素分离。相比之下,之前有关空气污染对健康影响的研究均基于联想式研究,即混淆了空气污染对人类健康带来的影响和其他决定因素。
  3. AQLI 估算了人均预期寿命的损失。其他研究方法则报告了由于空气污染提前死亡的人数,但却未说明其寿命减少了多少或其是否更易受影响(如年长人群或病人)。
  4. AQLI 使用高度局域化的卫星数据,因此,能够报告全球各国地级行政区的平均预期寿命所受的影响,而之前研究报告的通常为更合计的地区级别。

 

我们的赞助者

空气质量-寿命指数工作的完成离不开以下个人和机构的大力支持:

David 和 Christine Gross-Loh
Eric 和 Valonia Oei
贝克尔·弗里德曼研究所
Donald R. Wilson Jr.,芝加哥大学文学学士(1988年)

查看AQLI基础研究详情

中国淮河供暖政策的影响为长期空气污染与预期寿命的因果关系提供了新的证据 (2017)

作者:Avraham Ebenstein,樊茂勇,Michael Greenstone,何国俊、周脉耕

《美国国家科学院学报》

这篇研究论文发现,每立方米内增加10微克的悬浮颗粒物将减少人均寿命0.64年(95% CI:0.21,1.07)。这一判断是根据中国的淮河供暖政策所产生的PM10准实验数据变化而得出的。根据该政策,淮河-秦岭分界线以北的城市在冬季可以获得免费或者补贴的煤以供室内取暖,而分界线以南则没有此优惠政策。研究者以到分界线的距离进行断点回归设计,使用参数化和非参数化的评估方法、不同的内核类型和带宽,以及大量的行为与数据的协变量,得出了以上发现。此外,人均寿命的减少与心肺疾病死亡率的上升有着密不可分的关系,进一步说明了PM10是罪魁祸首。这一判断意味着中国全部实现PM10一级标准将增加总计约37亿年的寿命。

中国淮河政策揭示了长期暴露在空气污染之中会影响寿命的证据 (2013)

作者:陈玉宇、Avraham Ebenstein、Michael Greenstone、Hongbin Li

《美国国家科学院学报》

本论文研究结果表示一项随意的中国政策极大地增加了大气污染中总悬浮颗粒物 (TSP) 的量,导致中国北方地区 5 亿居民损失超过 25 亿年的平均预期寿命。这项以经验为研究方法准试验是以中国淮河取暖分界线政策为研究基础,该政策规定只为淮河北岸城市居民通过锅炉燃烧煤炭提供免费冬季供暖,不对南岸居民供暖。我们采用以距离淮河远近为基准的非连续性回归设计,发现大气 TSP 浓度大致为 184 μg/m3(95% 置信区间:61,307),北方高出 55%。此外,结果还显示由于心肺死亡率的发生率增高,北方地区居民的平均预期寿命缩短约 5.5 年(95% 置信区间:0.8,10.2)。一般而言,分析显示长期暴露在浓度为 100 μg/m3 的额外 TSP 环境下,与出生时预期寿命降低 3 年(95% 置信区间:0.4,5.6)。

研究方法

了解有关 AQLI 计算方式的详细信息

Button / Circle / Small Gray / Internal Link 研究方法

报告

关于空气颗粒物污染的若干事实

Button / Circle / Small Gray / Internal Link 报告

AQLI

About

The Air Quality Life Index

The Air Quality Life Index, or AQLI, converts air pollution concentrations into their impact on life expectancy. From this, the public and policymakers alike can determine the benefits of air pollution policies in perhaps the most important measure that exists: longer lives.

 

Produced by the Energy Policy Institute at the University of Chicago (EPIC), the AQLI is based on frontier research by EPIC’s director Michael Greenstone that quantified the causal relationship between human exposure to air pollution and reduced life expectancy. Combining this analysis with highly localized pollution measurements yields unprecedented insight into the true cost of air pollution in communities around the world. Through the interactive platform, users can learn not only how polluted their community is, but also how much longer they could live if their community complied with World Health Organization guidelines or national standards. It makes evident that policies that reduce fossil fuel use can allow people to live longer and healthier lives today, as well as reduce the risks of disruptive climate change.

“By converting air pollution concentrations into tangible terms—its impact on life expectancy—the AQLI establishes particulate air pollution as the single greatest threat to human health globally.” – Michael Greenstone, EPIC


A Unique Approach

For most people, their only insight into particulate air pollution exposure and risk is the popular Air Quality Index, which uses a color-coded system to provide a normative assessment of daily air quality. But these colors do little to convey actual heath risk, and are often accompanied by measurements of units that are unfamiliar to almost everyone (e.g., micrograms of pollution per cubic meter). The AQLI thus represents a completely novel advancement in measuring and communicating the health risks posed by particulate matter air pollution. This is because the AQLI converts particulate air pollution into perhaps the most important metric that exists: its impact on life expectancy.

The AQLI is rooted in peer-reviewed research by an international team of scholars, including Michael Greenstone from the University of Chicago, which for the first time quantified the causal relationship between long-term human exposure to air pollution and life expectancy. The Index combines this research with hyper-localized, global particulate matter measurements. This unique approach makes the AQLI the first pollution index to show what the threat of air pollution means to a person’s life anywhere in the world. It can also illustrate the gains in life expectancy that could be achieved by reducing particulate pollution concentrations to meet the World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines, existing national air quality standards, or user-defined levels.

Specifically, the AQLI stands apart from most work in this space in a few important respects.

  1. The research underlying the AQLI is based on pollution data at the very high concentrations that prevail in many parts of Asia today. Previous work has relied on extrapolations of associational evidence from the low levels in the United States or on extrapolations from cigarette studies.
  2. The causal nature of the AQLI’s underlying research allows it to isolate the effect of air pollution from other factors that impact health. In contrast, previous efforts to summarize the health effects of air pollution have relied on associational studies that are prone to confounding the effects of air pollution with other determinants of human health.
  3. The AQLI delivers estimates of the loss of life expectancy for the average person. Other approaches report the number of people who die prematurely due to air pollution, leaving unanswered how much their life was cut short or if they were more predisposed to be impacted from it (e.g. elderly or sick).
  4. The AQLI uses highly localized satellite data, making it is possible to report life expectancy impacts at the county or similar level around the world, rather than much more aggregated levels reported in previous studies.

Our Funders

The work of the Air Quality Life Index is made possible through the generous support of the following individuals and institutions:

David and Christine Gross-Loh
Eric and Valonia Oei
The Becker Friedman Institute
Donald R. Wilson Jr., University of Chicago, AB ‘88

Look at the studies

New Evidence on the Impact of Sustained Exposure to Air Pollution on Life Expectancy from China’s Huai River Policy

By: Avraham Ebenstein, Maoyong Fan, Michael Greenstone, Guojun He, and Maigeng Zhou Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences This paper finds that a 10 μg/m3 increase in airborne particulate matter (PM10) reduces life expectancy by 0.64 years (95% CI: 0.21, 1.07). This estimate is derived from quasi-experimental variation in PM10 generated by China’s Huai River Policy, which provides free or heavily subsidized coal for indoor heating during the winter to cities north of the Huai River but not to the south. The findings are derived from a regression discontinuity design based on distance from the Huai River, and are robust to using parametric and non-parametric estimation methods, different kernel types and bandwidth sizes, and adjustment for a rich set of demographic and behavioral covariates. Furthermore, the shorter lifespans are almost entirely due to elevated rates of cardiorespiratory mortality, suggesting that PM10 is the causal factor. The estimates imply that bringing all of China into compliance with its Class I standards for PM10 would save 3.7 billion life years.

Evidence on the Impact of Sustained Exposure to Air Pollution on Life Expectancy from China’s Huai River Policy

This paper's findings suggest that an arbitrary Chinese policy that greatly increases total suspended particulates (TSPs) air pollution is causing the 500 million residents of Northern China to lose more than 2.5 billion life years of life expectancy. The quasi-experimental empirical approach is based on China’s Huai River policy, which provided free winter heating via the provision of coal for boilers in cities north of the Huai River but denied heat to the south. Using a regression discontinuity design based on distance from the Huai River, we find that ambient concentrations of TSPs are about 184 μg/m3 [95% confidence interval (CI): 61, 307] or 55% higher in the north. Further, the results indicate that life expectancies are about 5.5 y (95% CI: 0.8, 10.2) lower in the north owing to an increased incidence of cardiorespiratory mortality. More generally, the analysis suggests that long-term exposure to an additional 100 μg/m3 of TSPs is associated with a reduction in life expectancy at birth of about 3.0 y (95% CI: 0.4, 5.6).

Methodology

Learn more about how the AQLI is calculated

Button / Circle / Small Gray / Internal Link Methodology

Report

A dozen facts about particulate air pollution

Button / Circle / Small Gray / Internal Link Reports