AQLI Button / Circle / Large / Hamburger Created with Sketch.
政策影响

中国:大气污染防治行动计划 (2013)

过去几十年来,中国成为了世界上污染最严重的国家之一。然而,2013 年之后就已不属于前三位了。空气污染对中国而言是一项挑战,但是中国近些年在减少污染方面卓有成效,这是在公众的强烈关注下采取一系列果断行动的成果。

公众对于日益恶化的空气污染在 20 世纪 90 年代后期开始日益不满。2007 年,中国开创性的非政府环保组织公众与环境研究中心的主任马军发布了中国空气污染地图,用户可据此查看全国各地的空气质量数据。2008 年起,驻北京的美国大使馆开始公开在推特和美国国务院网站上发布其自己的空气质量监测器的数据。人们很快发现了这一数据与中国政府公布的空气质量水平不符。到 2012 年,驻广州和上海的美国大使馆也设立了自己的污染监测器并开始公布数据。

接着,在 2013 年夏天,EPIC 主任 Michael Greenstone 及三位合著者在《美国国家科学院院刊》上发表的研究中指出:由于中国北方的空气污染程度比南方严重,因此北方居民的寿命比南方居民的减少了约 5 年。这一明确的健康威胁影响进一步刺激了公众的关注度,并引起了环境部门的注意。

随后不久,报道开始散播外国人出于健康问题考虑纷纷离开中国,当时中国的细颗粒物污染 (PM2.5) 浓度达到有记录以来的最高水平,并无好转的现象。例如,2013 年在首都北京,监测器报告的平均 PM2.5 浓度是世界卫生组织 (WHO) 认为安全水平的 9 倍,是中国国家二级标准的 2.5 倍。2014 年 1 月,污染水平达到每日建议水平的 30 到 45 倍之多,政府官员提醒民众待在室内。同样,上海的监测器报告的平均浓度是 WHO 标准的 5.5倍。中国总人口的平均PM2.5暴露当时为45 μg/m3,平均预期寿命会因此减少 3.4 年。


政策

身处现代中国历史上空气污染最严重的时期,国务院总理李克强在 2014 年初全国人民代表大会年度会议开幕之际宣布打响“蓝天保卫战”。全国人大的年会每年被全国性电视转播,是探讨关键经济目标的场合,在此宣布该消息,标志着中国长期以来经济发展重于环境保护问题态度的重要转变。同时也标志着政府官员对国家空气质量表述的重要变化。过去,国家媒体以低能见度是由于“雾”造成的,排放物与雾霾水平无关为理由试图打消公众对于空气质量的疑虑。现在,政府强调了环境保护的责任,声明政府不再是“先污染再治理”,而要以“铁腕”治理污染问题。

该声明紧随几个月前发布的大气污染防治行动计划,计划规定了要在 2017 年底前完成改善空气质量的具体目标。该计划补助了 2700 亿美元,北京政府额外补助 1200 亿美元,用于降低大气污染。该计划的目标是与 2012 年水平相比,将所有城市地区的 PM10 至少降低 10%。国内污染最严重的地区规定了具体目标:

  1. 京津冀地区、珠江三角洲、长江三角洲三个目标区域的 PM2.5 分别降低 25%、20% 和 15%。
  2. 北京年度 PM2.5 降低 34%,浓度从 2013 年的 91 µg/m3 降低至低于 60 µg/m3 的水平。

政府实现这些目标的策略包括:

  1. 将减轻污染作为政府官员晋升的考量因素,其晋升取决于管辖范围内的环境审计和经济发展表现。省级和地方官员受到鼓励机制影响,在其管辖范围内努力改善环境问题。
  2. 禁止在 3 个目标区域内新建燃煤厂,并要求现有燃煤厂减少排放或改用天然气。2017 年中国最大的煤炭生产地山西省关闭了 27 家煤矿。2018 年 1 月,北京关闭了最后一家燃煤发电厂且国家政府取消了新建 103 家燃煤发电厂的计划。
  3. 提高可再生能源发电量占比。2017 年中国可再生能源发电量在总发电量中的占比超过 25%。相比之下,美国的可再生能源发电量占比仅为 18%。
  4. 降低产业钢铁产能。2016 年至 2017 年期间,中国关闭了 1.15 亿吨钢铁产能,并计划进一步降低。
  5. 北京、上海和广州等大城市还实行在特定日期机动车限行交管措施来控制车辆尾气排放。这些城市对每年新发放汽车牌照的数量进行了限额,控制上路车辆的上限。
  6. 更有效地实施排放标准。2017 年末中国暂停了不符合燃油经济性标准的国内外共 553 种车辆型号的生产。
  7. 提高政府空气质量数据报告的透明性。中国建立了空气质量监测国家网络,并向公众公开数据。至 2017 年 3 月,中国共有 5000 多个监测站。

一系列强有力行动的实施导致了一些意想不到的后果。例如,2017 年至 2018 年冬季,官员们开始在替换设备还未到位的情况下,清除用于家用和商业供暖的燃煤锅炉。这举措导致部分地区没有供暖。连通了天然气管道的地区则由于供给不足,天然气价格飙升。对中国而言,治理工作不仅限于保持和进一步减轻污染水平,还在于调整激励机制、市场结构和当地实际情况,以便平稳过渡到清洁方案。


影响

近年来中国政府大力实施减轻空气污染的政策,大幅度改变了能源和交通组合。2013 年至 2017 年煤炭消耗减少了 3.5%,太阳能消耗单 2016 年一年就提高了超过 71%。与此同时,中国现有 123 万辆电动汽车上路。

由于这些行动,从2013到2016年,中国人口平均对颗粒物污染的暴露降低了12%。中国若能长期保持这几年的成就,全国平均寿命可增加0.5年。在2013年,天津是中国污染最严重的三个城市之一,到2016年颗粒物污染浓度降低了14%,此成就如果保持,天津市1300万居民的平均寿命会因此延长1.2年。污染减少最多的省是河南,如果河南能保持这几年的20%污染浓度减少,省内居民的平均寿命可延长1.3年。中国2013-2016年的污染减少成就,相较之下,比美国1998-2016年的总污染减少还大。

2017年的卫星监测颗粒物污染数据目前还未发表。然而,因2017年是大气污染防治行动计划所包含的最后一年,国家生态环境部与地方官员为了满足京津冀、珠江三角洲、长江三角洲关键地区的污染减少目标,施行了一系列强力性措施。这些措施在表明了更长期性污染筹略的同时,也会让污染从2016年的浓度进一步下降。


[1]本页面显示的污染数据与寿命影响来自与AQLI的卫星监测颗粒物污染数据。此数据与 “Is China Winning its War on Pollution”报告内来自中国政府污染监测站的数据不一致。由于中国的蓝天保卫战是近年来的政策,为了使分析包括2017年,该报告不用AQLI自家数据而用监测站数据。卫星监测与地面监测站固然有差异,而且本页的分析少一年、采用的数据排除了灰尘海燕两项自然污染源,使差异更大。

AQLI
Policy Impact

China: National Air Quality Action Plan (2013)

China’s War on Pollution Has Cut Smog by 12 percent. In 2016, three years into fighting a “War on Pollution,” China is seeing improvements. If these improvements are sustained, people in China could see their life expectancy increase by 0.5 years.

Over the last few decades, China has gained a reputation for being one of the most polluted countries in the world. Yet, it hasn’t been in the top three since 2013. Indeed, air pollution is a challenge for China, but the country has made great strides in reducing its pollution in recent years thanks to a series of decisive actions taken after intense public scrutiny.

Public concern about worsening air pollution began mounting in the late 1990s. In 2007, Ma Jun, director of China’s path breaking environmental NGO, the Institute of Public & Environmental Affairs, released the China Air Pollution Map, a tool that allowed users to view air quality data from around the country. Beginning in 2008, the U.S. embassy in Beijing began publicly posting readings from its own air quality monitor on Twitter and the State Department website, which residents quickly pointed out conflicted with the level of air quality reported by the city government. By 2012, the U.S. consulates in Guangzhou and Shanghai also had set up their own pollution monitors and began reporting data.

Then, in the summer of 2013, EPIC Director Michael Greenstone and three co-authors published a study in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences that found high air pollution had cut the lifespans of people living in northern China short by about five years compared to those living in the south. The clear demonstration of the health impacts further galvanized public scrutiny and drew the attention of the environment ministry.

Soon after, reports began to circulate of foreigners leaving the country due to health concerns, just as China experienced some of its highest concentrations of fine particulate matter pollution (PM2.5) on record with little reason to believe conditions would ever improve. In the country’s capital city of Beijing in 2013, for example, the average PM2.5 concentration that was seven times the amount the World Health Organization (WHO) considers safe, and twice the country’s own Class 2 national standard. In January of 2014, pollution monitor readings reached 30 to 45 times recommended daily levels, and city officials warned residents to stay indoors. Similarly, in Shanghai, the annual average concentration was 5.5 times the WHO standard. Across the entire Chinese population, the average resident was exposed to a PM2.5 concentration of 45 μg/m3, which corresponds to a decline in life expectancy by 3.4 years.

The average resident was exposed to a PM2.5 concentration of 45 μg/m3, which corresponds to a decline in life expectancy by 3.4 years.


The Policy

Amid one of the worst stretches of air pollution in modern Chinese history, Premier Li Keqiang declared a “war against pollution” at the beginning of 2014 during the opening of China’s annual meeting of the National People’s Congress. The timing of the declaration—at the kickoff of a nationally televised conference typically reserved for discussing key economic targets—marked an important shift in the country’s long-standing policy of prioritizing economic growth over concerns about environmental protection. It also marked an important change in the government’s official rhetoric about the country’s air quality. In the past, state media had deflected concerns about air quality by claiming poor visibility was due to “fog” and that emissions had no effect on levels of smog. Now, the government stressed environmental responsibility, stating the country could not “pollute now and clean up later” and would fight pollution with “an iron fist.”

The declaration followed the release just months earlier of the National Air Quality Action Plan, which laid out specific targets to improve air quality by the end of 2017. The Plan set aside $270 billion, and the Beijing city government set aside an additional $120 billion, to reduce ambient air pollution. Across all urban areas, the Plan aimed to reduce PM10 by at least 10 percent relative to 2012 levels. The most heavily-polluted areas in the country were given specific targets:

  1. Reduce PM2.5 in the three target regions of Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei, Pearl River Delta, Yangtze River Delta by 25, 20, 15 percent, respectively.
  2. Reduce annual PM2.5 in Beijing by 34% from the 2013 level

The government’s strategies for achieving these goals included:

  1. Build pollution reduction into government officials’ incentives so promotions depended on both environmental audits and the economic performance of their jurisdictions. Provincial and local officials are now incentivized to improve the environment in their jurisdictions.
  2. Prohibit new coal-fired plants in the 3 target regions and require existing coal plants to reduce emissions or be replaced with natural gas. In 2017, Shanxi province, China’s largest coal producer, shut down 27 coal mines. By January 2018, Beijing had closed its last coal-fired power plant and the national government cancelled plans to build 103 more.
  3. Increase renewable energy generation. Renewable sources made up more than a quarter of energy generated in China in 2017. In comparison, they made up just 18% of the U.S. energy generation that year.
  4. Reduce iron and steel making capacity in industry. Between 2016 and 2017, China shut down 115 million tons of steel capacity, and further cuts are planned.
  5. In large cities such as Beijing, Shanghai, and Guangzhou, control vehicle emissions by restricting the number of cars on the road on any given day. Each of these cities has a quota on the number of new license plates issued each year, capping the amount of cars on the road.
  6. Better enforce emissions standards. In late 2017, China suspended the production of 553 car models that do not meet fuel economy standards, including ones made by foreign and state-run companies.
  7. Increase transparency in government reporting of air quality statistics. China has built a nationwide network of air pollution monitors and makes the data publicly available. By March 2017, there were over 5000 monitoring stations in China.

These aggressive actions have come with some unintended consequences. For example, in the winter of 2017-2018 officials began removing coal boilers used for heating from many homes and businesses even though replacements were not yet available everywhere. This left some without heat. Those who were connected to natural gas lines saw their prices surge because of the undersupply. For China, work remains not only in sustaining and furthering its pollution reductions, but also in aligning incentives, market structures and local realities to smooth transitions to cleaner options.


The Impacts

The Chinese government has largely followed through with its air pollution reduction strategies, vastly changing its energy and transportation mix in recent years. While consumption from coal decreased 3.5% from 2013-2017, solar consumption increased by more than 71% in 2016 alone. At the same time, 1.23 million electric vehicles are now on the road in China.

Thanks to these actions, between 2013 and 2016, particulate pollution exposure declined by an average of 12 percent across the Chinese population. If that reduction is sustained, it would equate to a gain in life expectancy of 0.5 years. Tianjin, one of China’s three most polluted cities in 2013, saw a 14 percent reduction in particulate pollution, translating to a gain of 1.2 years of life expectancy for its 13 million residents, if sustained. In Henan, the province that saw the largest pollution reduction, residents are exposed to 20 percent less particulate pollution than in 2013, equating to a 1.3 year gain in life expectancy. To put China’s success in context, the pollution reduction in China from 2013-2016 is greater than that seen in the United States from 1998-2016.

Satellite-derived particulate pollution data is not yet available for 2017, the last year of the National Air Quality Action Plan’s timespan. However, the aggressive actions by the Ministry of Environmental Protection and local officials to ensure that targets would be met in the key regions of Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei, the Pearl River Delta, and the Yangtze River Delta would have further reduced particulate pollution below 2016 levels, even as they underscored the need for longer-term solutions to make the reductions permanent.Satellite-derived particulate pollution data is not yet available for 2017, the last year of the National Air Quality Action Plan’s timespan.


[1]This page shows pollution data and associated life expectancy results from the AQLI’s own satellite-derived pollution dataset. Thus, they are generally lower than the pollution and life expectancy results in the “Is China Winning its War on Pollution?” report, which are based on the Chinese government’s ground-level pollution monitors. Since China’s War on Pollution is a recent policy initiative, the report uses monitor data to (1) cover an additional year, 2017, when much pollution reduction progress was made, and (2) avoids satellite data’s potential error in measuring pollution trends over a short time span. An additional cause of discrepancies between the data sources is that the AQLI’s pollution data is net of dust, which is a substantial part of what monitors observe – e.g. about 8% in Beijing.